I would really like to know what the weather conditions were like in Ukraine while the tribulation of hot winds and no rain existed in North Dakota according to S.A. Olsness’ records.  Are there Ukrainian students who care enough about their Holodomor (Terror Famine) history able to find this information out?  While North Dakota and the rest of the nation may have experienced drought conditions during the Dirty Thirties, this does not mean it can be projected to Ukraine during this tragic period in their history. 

What is needed are the facts about 1932-33 weather, then the other numbers or statistics of 7-10 million Ukrainians dying during this two year period might make more sense.  The Soviet government edicts of forced collectivism went against the term used by G.K. Chesterton of “distributism.”  I just found out about this concept yesterday and need to read up on it more.  In the meantime, C.S. Lewis has some very good points about why we suffer pain, maybe why Ukrainians have suffered so much. 

The Necessity of Tribulation 

“I am progressing along the path of life in my ordinary contentedly fallen and godless condition, absorbed in a merry meeting with my friends for the morrow or a bit of work that tickles my vanity today, a holiday or a new book, when suddenly a stab of abdominal pain that threatens serious disease, or a headline in the newspapers that threatens us all with destruction, sends this whole pack of cards tumbling down.  At first I am overwhelmed, and all my little happinesses look like broken toys.  Then slowly and reluctantly, bit by bit, I try to bring myself into the frame of mind that I should be in at all times.  I remind myself that all these toys were never intended to possess my heart, that my true good is in another world and my only real treasure is Christ.”