You are currently browsing the daily archive for September 5, 2007.

pink petuniascoyote’s bedfreed perennials

After I heard last night’s howling, it is unmistakeable that we have our very own coyotes and NOT wolves.  I discovered where they are bedding down for the night, right in a stack of grass clippings I have, close to where I sighted them the other morning, what I thought at first were the short deer or tall foxes!  My Dad is incredulous that we have coyotes but their tracks fit the description of what I saw doing a google search.  Their paw print is about 2 1/2 inches whereas a wolf’s spread is about 4 1/2 inches.  I also found out that they like to eat fruit so our downed apples and plums have been a part of the coyote’s diet lately. I took these shots this morning to show the 90 irises my Mom and I freed up from the quack grass, also the poor peonies that had been suffocated by overgrowth.  Hopefully next spring with the use of the tarps over the area that was weeded and tilled, we will have blooming flowers as a way to thank us for our battles fought with weeds.  We, as gardeners, WILL PREVAIL!!! 

About those coyotes, I guess they can stay as long as they keep the rabbit and deer population down.  Actually I welcome them.

I’ve always thought glasses were for older people and not younger ones.  I’ve done real well not having to use “aids” to read or see things at a distance.  However, now it is official, I own a pair of reading glasses.  This prescription should supposedly relax my eyes a bit, I’ve been straining them lately.  Maybe I’m doing too much computer work, I dunno.  I was hoping to never have to succumb to this reality but now I can no longer wear rose colored glasses of denial.  I am a part-time “four eyes.”  My far sighted vision has always been good, I can see things from far away.  That remains true, but when I look anywhere with my reading glasses outside of the close range, everything starts to appear blurry.  Ah me, the cost of getting older and hopefully wiser.  We must take each step in aging gracefully.  Hopefully I will be a very “grace filled” person by the time I get really old.