You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 3, 2007.

Here is my first blog, EVER!!! What has taken me so long to get to this point? Well, I’m not sure I want ALL my thoughts and feelings out there for the rest of the world to see but my friend M.P. got me interested yesterday in using WordPress. I like the sound of it. Press on with WORDS!!! Or instead of selfpublishing a book, I’ll just digitize my thoughts into words that can readily be seen by my students and other favorite people. (;-)

I know reading through the diaries from S.A. Olsness, an immigrant from Norway to North Dakota from 1924 to 1954, he was prolific in his daily chronicling. He wrote a page a day of worthy current events on a local, state, national and international level. S.A. documented who visited or who wrote him and who he wrote letters to. He also wrote what newspapers and books he read or what talkie movies he watched and comments concerning them. He was interested in many things such as politics, farming, all things Norwegian, music, church matters, history, airplanes, sports, especially GOLF! and his family of brothers and sisters, nieces and nephews. He lived to be 88 years old so his life was rich and full.

Since I’m back in Kyiv, Ukraine teaching my composition students, of course, I’m interested in learning more about their long history of 1,000 years. This semester I hope to learn much from my students when they go and find out from interviewing elders who are still living, about what life was like during WWII or even before during the Holodomor (forced famine of 1932-33). I KNOW there is much history to uncover and it REALLY does matter. The TRUTH always does!