You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 13, 2007.

With my husband at home in Minnesota and my being here in Ukraine, what is the next best thing to being together?  Well, we had a long talk on the phone last night. A week ago I also sent him a card that had Russian words in it that I guessed was a valentine’s wish.  Finally, I’ll be counting down the days when he arrives to Kyiv again to join me.  Twenty-three days and counting.

One Valentines Day when we lived in the Washington D.C. area, I gave my husband a Casablanca card and then we went to a restaurant by that same name and then went home to watch the movie “Casablanca.”  If you don’t know what that classic movie is about, go to IMDB.com (Internet Movie DataBase) and find out.  Not my absolute favorite movie, I’ll tell you another day in a future blog, but it is in the TOP TEN of my most favorite movies!

Also, look to see what kind of movies my North Dakota, Norwegian ancestor watched in the early 1930s by looking to the right of HOME on this blog, above.  See what the general themes were of those movies by going to IMDB.com and writing about that in another blog.  Tell which ones you would be interested in seeing just based on the titles and plot summaries.

Well, I want to say that I LOVE my Ukrainian students who work hard for me in class and also outside of class.  If you need help, ask and I will make myself available or try to answer over e-mail.  Blog away!