You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 15, 2007.

some photos from homeWe have been brainstorming in our Comp II classes and I think we have come up with some excellent ideas about how we could improve the atmosphere at our university. I think having a photo competition of all the WIUU students photos sent digitally and voted on by all the students is a good start.  Then for the final selection we might have three objective judges vote on landscape, portrait and animal photos.  The top prizes would have their photos displayed in a big room and each year we would add to the collection.  I think if everyone went through their digital photo files, some real prizewinners would be found.  Also, I think we could have the old photos that were scanned for the “History Matters” presentations and have those posted in a kind of university archives with all the identifying stories and names behind those photos. 

The main thing is to document and display what resources we have as a student body and the coming together of these links can give our school a distinction that noone else in Kyiv has.  What do you think of starting off with a Photo Contest in early April?  We will celebrate our 10th year anniversary of the start of WIUU in May so we need to have something to show all our invited guests. 

Trick question:  the above is a photo that my husband took of me next to a bonfire near our MN farmhouse about a month ago using MY digital camera.  Who should get the credit if I were to enter it in a photo contest? (Once all your comments and responses are in, hint, hint, I’ll give you my answer to this trick question)