“Hate” may be too strong a word because I actually do use Wikipedia just to get background information but it can’t be trusted.  I was embarrassed for a friend of mine in Minnesota who used it as one of her references in her Ph.D. dissertation.  Her advisor was as ignorant about computers and what Wikipedia is all about as my friend was.  Years down the road when people look at my friend’s Bibliography, they will wonder how she ever got a Ph.D. with inserting encyclopedia information into her research. 

Sorry, looking at encyclopedias is NOT research, it is just getting a reference that might not be entirely accurate or true.  Digging in archives and getting oral interviews from people who have witnessed an event is what research is all about!!!

For fun, I invite you to look at the new page I created about Famous Aviators in the early 1930s.  You can even check these names out in Wikipedia but never let me catch my students using it for their final research paper!!!

It really was the golden age for pilots because they were trying to beat “round-the-world” records and many of the pilots flew over Siberia.  I’m just wondering what these adventurers saw during the early 1930s. Did these pilots take photos of the conditions of those Ukrainians or Russians being punished and who were sent to Siberia? Were the aviators aware of the 1932-33  forced famine happening in Ukraine?  What do my students’ grandparents know about the early pilots in the USSR?

This subject will be fun to explore and we can explode some of the myths created and perpetuated on Wikipedia!!!