Elephant ManLast night I watched a 1980 movie which showed a very young Anthony Hopkins, as the idealistic and merciful medical doctor.  I thought maybe I could parallel this true real life story of the “Elephant Man” to the nation of Ukraine.  I know there are other European nations that are horrified with what Ukraine stands for such as the Chernobyl disaster, its brand of Ukrainian mafia, the white slave traffic and its dark history during communism.  However, I know Ukraine has long been taunted and kicked around as Joseph Merrick had been throughout his childhood.  Unfortunately, his physical appearance only worsened from age two until he died at 27.  At one climactic point in the movie Joseph Merrick rasps out to those chasing him, “I am NOT an animal, I am a human being!” This movie is NOT for the faint of heart, it takes GUTS to watch it.*

What I think the Orange Revolution was telling the rest of the world was that Ukraine is NOT a stillborn or backward nation but rather a country with a long and very distinguished history.  The medical doctor in the movie was trying to give this young man dignity.  The doctor marvelled that after his being on display as a freak in a circus, Joseph Merrick was a person with soul, with integrity even with class. 

Several times while watching the movie I wanted to shut it off, I was so pained to see the brutality dealt this man and yet Joseph Merrick was meek and absorbed all the abuse, he never fought back.  The best part of the movie was that he recited the 23rd Psalm and also out of cardboard built a model of a prestigious London cathedral.  Joseph Merrick was NOT an imbecile or a freak but rather a gentle soul.  Yet, at some point, he had to speak out. 

So too with my composition students, they must not let the world say that their country is a freak or backward but they must speak out in their writing, their OWN writing!!!  It will be awkward at first, especially in a language not their own but once they build confidence like Joseph Merrick did, then maybe they can write in Ukrainian about their proud history, the TRUE accounts that are walking around still in their grandparents’ memories.

*I checked this video of “Elephant Man” out at the British Council.