You are currently browsing the daily archive for July 2, 2007.

SAO at deskI know Jesus is the Author and Finisher of our faith (Heb 12:2) as I “refinish” the authorship of SA Olsness.  Reading through his 1946 diary he had attempted to write his autobiography when he was 80 years old.  I don’t know if he succeeded with his last eight years of retirement; he died in 1954.  To find out, I need to read his remaining diaries that are housed in the NDSU archives.  I doubt he finished, since there was so much information he recorded.  I believe SAO was a cultural Christian and I can’t tell if in fact he died “finished” in God’s finishing school of holiness.  I hope so.  Last night while Ken was pruning our apple tree that has borne so much fruit in the past, I reflected on God’s finishing school for us as Christians.  We ultimately go through some chastening times, as SAO did in the 1930s. Do we become better or bitter as a result?  If we let God do the painful cutting away of all that is secure in this world, then when we get to the Other Side, we will realize that it was for our own good eternally.  I certainly hope SAO knew the Author and Finisher of the Christian faith, the Creator of the universe.   Jesus is to be exalted as He sits on the right hand of the throne of God.  How does one go about doing that while exposing the facts of weather, grain prices and relationships as recorded in the 1930s?