You are currently browsing the daily archive for July 28, 2007.

roofing the shopMy husband is brilliant, a CAN DO kind of guy! He can do anything like electrical, plumbing, gardening, you name it!!!  Right now he is ambitiously working on our shop that was lifted several years ago from the earth to rest on old railroad ties as a foundation. Otherwise, the shop had been slowly sinking into the Red River Valley soil.  My Dad and Ken had joked they were “shoplifting.”  Now they are both roofing the old shop and it was wonderful to see the two work together on the scaffolding last night, also both were on the top of the roof. (My Dad is 77 years young) In this photo Ken is using his Ford Ranger truck to stand on in order to saw off the old shingles on the edges.  While they worked on this project in the glow of the setting sun, I collected all the grass clippings and weeded the garden to the south.  Simply amazing how FAST weeds grow especially during out absence of two weeks.  I also have a smart husband who will teach economics this fall at KIMEP in Almaty, Kazakstan if all goes well with the paperwork.  Some snafus with visas and other bureaucratic manueverings have slowed things down a bit for our eventual departure on Aug. 13th.  At least that is what our airline tickets read, we may leave later which is fine with both of us.  In any event, Ken is very happy to do the manual labor to make our farmyard look more loved.  How I love my man!!!  To think I had to fly all the way to Kazakstan in May of 1993 to find him is God’s grace to me!!!