You are currently browsing the daily archive for July 21, 2007.

At a seminar in a computer lab where I’m typing this, I learned, believe it or not, the seven cardinal sins can effectively apply to writing. I think I’ll use this with my composition students in the future. You have to know that it made sense with the definitions and examples given. Trust me on how powerful it was to think about how NOT to write! The following is a very quick summary:

1. Vengeance – tell fresh stories, not the same old ones from the past

2. Gluttony – Stay focused, don’t tell all you know by spewing all out from over abundance of details

3. Sloth – don’t do the “just get by” kind of writing, seek excellence in details

4. Pride – Focus on the person you are telling the story about, not on yourself

5. Envy – Write freshly, don’t use old patterns that worked last time

6. Lust – verify stories, make sure there is truth in your quotes, don’t make them sizzle with falsities

7. Greed – selfishness in putting self in story and not glorifying God.

Much to learn about writing and what sins to stay away from! Help me not to error for my future reading audience!!!