You are currently browsing the daily archive for July 5, 2007.

our fireworksThe Griller and ThinkerMy folks came out to celebrate with us as our other invited guests had prior engagements.  Maybe it would have helped to ask them sooner but then, Ken has only been home a week so we have settling in to do still.  Ken did a GREAT job with grilled ribs and baked beans in the crock pot.  My Mom contributed the cabbage salad and my Dad beat me at a game of horseshoe, 21-17.  I used to win all the time but I need my knack back to get ringers again.  While my Mom and I went inside to play duets on my old Wurlitzer organ, my Dad and Ken planted maple trees.  Then when it finally got dark enough we started with sparklers and Roman candles and our grand finale was set on the ladder.  Actually the cosmic fireworks came rolling in from the northwest where we got a quick 2/10ths of an inch of rain.  Good for our gardens and happy that it held off until after our Fourth of July picnic.  Happy Birthday America, I believe you are about 231 years young!!!