You are currently browsing the daily archive for July 9, 2007.

stained glass windowsinside church museumabandoned granaryWhat a great time I had in North Dakota yesterday.  I visited with Aunt Izzie who works as a volunteer at the museum in New Rockford after my folks and I had attended a little Lutheran church service in Sheyenne.  Note the rural theme in the stained glass window.  After the reunion with Gilderhus relatives, my folks and I toured the area where S.A. Olsness would have walked and skied.  Just one mile north of his place was this old abandoned granary on a once prosperous little farmstead.  We also saw the Sheyenne River that wound and twisted on the northwest part of SAO’s section of land.  So much history is just laying out in the open, exposed to the elements.  Who cares about what happened 100 years ago? Who cares about what happened 2,000 years ago?  I do.